International

Miss Maggie

Margaret Thatcher (1925 - 2013), UK Prime minister from 1979 to 1990

Margaret Thatcher (1925 – 2013), UK Prime minister from 1979 to 1990

I’ve just heard the death of Margaret Thatcher, Tories leader from 1975 to 1990 and UK Prime minister from 1979 to 1990, first political woman being at this position.

To be honest, I’ve to confess I feel nothing special even if my thoughts and my condolences go to her family and the British people. After such years of power, Maggie Thatcher was ill, an aged person and tired and it is needed to remind this.

This woman will have played a major role in UK History throughout some events as The Falklands war in 1982, the minors’ strike in 1983 – 1984 or the complete restructuration of the British economic policy leading to a strong and savage free-market. This strategy was effective – let’s be honest! – and deeply transformed Great Britain and let some traces within the British society as I could notice during my stay in London, on the last summer.

Very appreciated by some people, very hated by others (due to her attitude towards the Northern Irish nationalists for instance), Margaret Thatcher will have a major impact on political History, whatever we want or not, and especially in Europe, despites her visions and policies vis-à-vis European integration and face to the determination of Mitterrand and Kohl, she never prevented the European Union and other Member States to go forward.

The Iron Lady passed away and an episode of UK History too. To conclude I post the trailer of the biopic focused on his political career, released in 2012 and a “Marr on History” episode focused on Margaret Thatcher and broadcast in 2005 on BBC1. And for those who are interested, you can read my post about “The Iron Lady” I wrote on February 2012. 

