French politics

I’m Charlie

Charb, Charlie Hebdo Editor-in-chief

Charb, Charlie Hebdo Editor-in-chief

Very hard to be focused on his task today, just after hearing the shooting attack on the French satirical newspaper Charlie Hebdo, this Wednesday morning. The outcome is awful: 12 people died included four very famous cartoonists, Charb, Wolinski, Tignous and Cabu.

I’m not a Charlie Hebdo’s regular reader. I have been even shocked (at least, uncomfortable) by some of its cartoons, especially regarding religion. But I’ve always respected this weekly on the behalf of the press freedom. Furthermore, some cartoons made by Charb, Wolinski and Cabu were well drawn and I used them to illustrate my posts.

It is useless to say I am very upset and sad about this tragedy insofar as France and Republican values were clearly targeted this day. François Hollande, the French president, was very clear and really realistic this morning, qualifying this shooting as an act of terrorism. While we should not be surprised, due to the fact this newspaper has been regularly threatened by some Islamic groups for years, I cannot still realize what happened today.

I’m totally speechless and instead of working on my job tasks, I was watching and commenting on the reactions on Facebook and Twitter. More than ever, France, my beloved country and my fellow compatriots should be united against obscurantism, barbarism and stand for liberty, diversity and respect.

As French, we must protect and back our Muslim compatriots against any accusation and amalgamation. I deeply convicted Islam is a religion of tolerance and peace as any other religion in the world. Muslim French should be afraid and ashamed because they are Muslim believers, they are Muslim and strongly republicans. In this context, we have to be united and stronger to show to people who cowardly assassinated four journalists that our liberty and our values should not be questioned definitely.

Nonetheless, national unity must be a sine qua none condition and it is clearly needed our politicians speak on a same voice. The moment is not dedicated to controversy but to unity with the French president, guardian of the French values.

Tonight, I’m Charlie!

